Married By Mistake

8-benefits-of-waking-up-early

If I were to one day wake-up and find out that I had suddenly married someone, I would assume three things. Either I had a temporary moment of insanity, someone “thwapped” me on the head and dragged me down the aisle or I had a little too much vino the night before.

Now, since I don’t drink alcohol my other two thoughts would have me quite worried. I would be wondering who was crazy enough to plot such an undertaking?

I would feel sorry for the poor bastard because I would probably make his life a living nightmare that he would cancel his plans altogether.

I imagine there are tons of men and women who after serious partying wake-up realizing they are betrothed. For me, that would be my worst nightmare. I would be praying from the first moment I saw the ring on my finger, hoping that it was at least someone I knew.

Then, I would start worrying how I would explain my little excursion to the rest of my family. I would hope and pray that I had the good sense to think of a pre-nuptial agreement.

The most puzzling question I would ask myself is, who would be so desperate to take advantage of anyone in a weak moment? Even if the person turned out to be a charming hunk, I would be gravely concerned because for someone to perform such a dastardly deed speaks more about control.

The person may have sociopathic, controlling issues. Who’s is to say if he will not hold me captive for the rest of my life in an ivory tower somewhere? I think I would work myself up into a frenzy becoming mortified. I would probably hyperventilate until I was able to get to the crux of the matter.

I would immediately seek to have the marriage annulled. If there was a real connection there, then after a period of time, I would feel confident that it would manifest and eventually lead to a trip down the aisle. But, I believe marrying someone against their will is just so wrong on so many levels.

The person who undertakes such a task is only setting him or herself up for living a lifetime with a beech or a brute that they may hate or who will despise him/her in return.


Leave a comment