The Pretenders

pretentious

The older I become I have developed an awareness where I truly believe not all people are entitled to being in my inner circle. Growing up I was so meek, docile and mild I assumed everyone harbored a good spirit and were genuinely nice people.

It is through my own dramatic episodes when I needed to reach out to others for consolation, advice and company that I found out how dirty and low down folks can truly be.

I have written about a particular associate previously in my blog who I had known while in school. She had a penchant for dating other women’s boyfriends regardless of the fact she was warned before hand.

This person pretended as if she could not mash ants and was holier than thou, but as time passed I found out not only did she try to take on friends of mine boyfriends, she had mis-stepped by breaking girl code. She sneakily began dating someone I had a close friendship with.

All the while pretending as if she had  no contact with the person but as soon as she found out we were talking to one another she quickly pounced on the situation. If that were not bad enough when my first beau was knocking me around every which way, abusing me emotionally and verbally she pretty much insinuated I called it upon myself.

She basically suggested that since I was living with my boyfriend in sin then I deserved what I got. Later I found out her own parent was a single mother of four children and never married any of their fathers.

If that was not bad enough I later became privy to information which clarified what really transpired on a weekend day when she had called me out of the blue to have brunch. It was not to catch up on old times, it was a set up so my green card could be stolen from me. She misrepresented the whole meeting as a means to take my green card possibly using it for herself or cohorts.

I was so naïve and simple not to think that she could have been sitting right across from me when the perpetrator came in and took my entire bag from off my chair in the restaurant.

She had a clear view of the individual yet she reported she had known nothing. It was all a lie. Then I believed her because the matter had been reported to the police and I thought she would never mislead them by perjuring herself.

However after connecting the dots I came to an epiphany where I was confronted with the reality that I did not meet this young woman by chance. She was from Trinidad of which my adoptive mother’ sister was dating someone from the same island and at the time he happened to be a cop.

He could easily have doctored the situation so that her story of not seeing anybody take my bag seemed credible when it was a bold untruth.

As I reminisce on the people I associated myself with in my youth I now understand that people tried to make me feel inferior because they knew they did not qualify to be in my sphere. So, every chance they got they sought to bring me down.

One would think I would have gotten a clue about her integrity as a person when she began boyfriend stealing. My second clue was when I found out her sister had been a crack addict and was instrumental in putting me in a very dangerous and precarious situation when I had gone to a friend’s wedding in California.

Back then I did not realize the sister was so hopped up on coke and was participating in menage-a-trois with our mutual friend and her husband that when they tried to pawn me off on a strange guy so they could get on with their orgies I thought I had done something terribly wrong why I was being rejected and ostracized.

She was just jealous of my goody two shoes persona and felt I was over shadowing her thunder. Puritanical Prudence was getting way more attention than dipping and doing Lucinda.

As I have matured I have come to terms with the fact that youth makes one very silly. In my situation I gave too many people the wiggle room to disrespect me when they were not even fit to be called my friends.


Leave a comment