Everyone Is Entitled To An Opinion

DramaAlert

As we are ending an era and approaching a new decade I am still playing the name game as so many people have so much to say about both my surnames.

On November 12, 1965, at The University of the West Indies hospital, I was born to a man named Bailey who was a certified public accountant, and a woman whose married name was Bailey and a housewife.

Despite that fact, there are so many snide remarks being made concerning me using the name Bailey. The most recent being, “No matter how hard I try I will never be considered a Bailey.”

The thing is I do not have to try. From that fate-filled day in November, I patented and trademarked that name. As far as I know, I was El Numero Uno from that date until now and nothing will ever change that in my book.

The Bailey name has been part of my life even when I added my adoptive name Brown so I am not quite sure why everyone’s knickers are in a crease. I am my type of Bailey because the little I know about the kinfolk who call themselves Bailey, makes me shudder with dismay.

Although my biological father has made a grand life for himself and he tries to be an affable person the rest of his family are fickle, disloyal and unreliable. To me, if being Bailey means I use people to get where I am going, then I am not a Bailey. If being a Bailey involves treating people like shite, then I would say I am not interested in being that type of Bailey.

The ones who are revolting over me using the name have managed to attach meanings to it such as ungrateful, classless, and opportunists, therefore, no, I would not be interested in being that brand of Bailey.

It is funny how the ones who are raising bacchanal over me using my birth name are the very persons who are running in and out of marriages for the sole purpose of avoiding the name.

I never ran away from my Bailey name.  I incorporated it into all my names. Even when my so-called Bailey family tried to block me I still utilized the name with great pride because I am a different sort of Bailey.

I am the type who doesn’t mind finishing last if it means I am not stepping on someone else to get where I am going. Although some may think nice guys finish last, evil ones just fade away into oblivion.

The critics talk about me as if they believe their gossip or rhetoric will go unnoticed but it does not. I have eyes and ears everywhere. I know all the nasty little remarks that are made behind my back.

The point is the reason why the critics are so mean spirited is that they think I am taking away their thunder. When I could not care less about their thunder or lightning for that matter.

The name belonged to me first, and it is I who should be airing grievances and objections. Besides, a wise person once told me, “People need to know who you are and not the other way around…”

Therefore this blog post is specifically written for the penny section. They can tinkle like cymbals all they want but the fact of the matter is I am the original who does not care to fit into the Bailey culture that came after me.

I am only interested in creating my  legacy. Hopefully, it will be one that does not radiate the negative connotations of the new Bailey era. Bailey is in my DNA as much as Brown is in my DNA….So deal with it!

 

 


Leave a comment