The Grace of God

Most of my friends have thought me strange over the years simply because I have no hang ups on complimenting another woman if she is pretty or beautiful. I never look at attractive women as competition.

If anything, they motivate me to step up my game and do better. I know some warped people will translate my admiration of other good looking women as latent lesbian tendencies, but I can assure you I am strictly heterosexual all the way.

On occasion, as I mill about town I have God wink experiences that cause me to pause and think. The other day as I was going about my daily activities I happened to bump into an older woman literally. Usually it is not a major event but when I looked up at her the first thing I thought was “What a beautiful face.”

She may have been senior in years but her silver fox hair worked for her and her build was that of Sophia Loren. One of thing I often look for in older women is the level of contentment on their faces. It usually tells me if they had a good life or endured many trials and tribulations. This woman’s face said she lived, went through a few trying moments, but all things considered, she had lead a remarkable and quite an extraordinary life.

For me it was sort of a bitter sweet moment since although I may have been a few years younger than her, my agility issues were shining brighter than a diamond. She was as chipper as an athlete. I could not help but feel there was a sense of familiarity as if we had met in another life before.

Then I thought, “What a blessing it is to age gracefully. God’s grace makes us lucky and even though we may encounter adversities in life his mercy will make us only reflect the good times.”


Leave a comment